2011/03/26: Military City 5k (race report)

I’ll keep this RR short since there’s nothing of significance about the race itself.  I’ve been back stateside for 30 days and this was the 7th race I’ve done (3 5ks, 1 10k, 2 HMs, and a 50k).

I hadn’t planned on racing this weekend, but I thought it would be fun for my beloved (Asa) and I to do.  I looked online for a 5k this weekend and found this one which only cost $15 (which included chip timing and a shirt).

This was the Military City 5k.  It’s named that because it takes place in San Antonio which is home to Joint Base San Antonio, which is a huge cluster of military bases from different branches.  It took place on Fort Sam Houston.  In addition to the individual runners, there were 5-person military guideon teams as well as 28-person formations.  Luckily, the formation runners did not take off until 20 minutes after the individual runners.

I didn’t have any goal for the race but thought it’d be nice to get under 30 minutes, or at least beat my pre-2011 PR (although I’d already broken it in the other 5ks I did this year.  The course was relatively flat with just a couple long uphills and downhills toward the end.  There were army people along the sides of the roads cheering everyone along.

Asa took off ahead of me at the start and I didn’t see him again until the end.  I finished in 29:59 (official time) and Asa finished in 23:25.  He’s pretty speedy!

We both had a good time.  And tomorrow we leave for a cruise to the Bahamas!  Considering that at least one of us has been deployed for the last 9 months, it’s neat getting to spend time together again. 🙂

Here are a couple photos of the two of us (first before and second after the race):
Military City 5k 1 Military City 5k 2

Katrina

Leave a Reply

